News: The UCLA Center for the Study of Women & Institute for American Cultures present the Research Excellence Award for UCLA Associate Professors 2018-2019 Academic Year

February 15, 2018 - 4:45pm


The Center for the Study of Women and Institute for American Cultures are accepting applications for a joint award: the Research Excellence Award for Associate Professors for the 2018-19 academic year. This Award consists of a monograph manuscript (or equivalent) workshop organized by CSW-IAC to promote continuing excellence in scholarship by UCLA professors at the associate level addressing questions important to the fields of critical race and postcolonial studies and/or gender, sexuality, and ethnic studies. 


This award was established in January 2017 and in its first year, we received 7 applications. Due to strong candidates and interest from various Divisions, all 7 applications were funded.



Candidates for the award must be nominated by a fellow faculty member (does not have to be from UCLA) committed to co-organizing the workshop alongside the CSW-IAC selection committee and staff. 



Each workshop will feature a distinguished outside reader from the awardee’s field who will prepare detailed written reports in preparation for the workshop discussion. Also invited will be a select group of local colleagues and intellectual interlocutors who will also have had an opportunity to read the manuscript or portions thereof. These workshops will offer awardees an extended and detailed discussion of his or her manuscript and a pragmatic plan of action for revisions. 



The application requires the following materials:

1)     Two-page (single-spaced) abstract of the book manuscript, including a progress report on state of completion by the time of the workshop

2)     CV, with past service to or collaboration with IAC or CSW highlighted

3)     Letter of Nomination, noting three potential outside readers of the manuscript


Materials must be submitted through the Submittable application portal:


The application may be submitted by nominator or nominee.


DEADLINE: Monday, March 12, 2018 (by 11:59 pm PT)


Contact Kristina Magpayo Nyden, Management Services Officer, at